Jean Mayer Prize Ceremony and 40th Anniversary Celebration

We have an exciting day of activities planned for October 18th, so please mark your calendars and join us for a tribute to the school and to the Jean Mayer Prize winners who've made a real-world impact in nutrition science and policy.

40th Anniversary Celebration

Thursday, October 18, 2018

Celebrating 40 Years of Excellence in Nutrition

1:30 p.m. Program | 3:30 p.m. Reception
Jaharis Family Center for Biomedical and Nutrition Sciences
150 Harrison Avenue, Boston, MA 02111
RSVP to | 888-320-4103

RSVP via Email Now!


Our 40th Anniversary event starts at 1:30pm in Behrakis Auditorium with remarks from President Anthony Monaco, followed by a video tribute and an incredible panel discussion, The Friedman School’s Impact Today and Tomorrow, featuring moderator Corby Kummer, Senior Lecturer at the Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy; Senior Editor, The Atlantic.

Panelists for the roundtable

  • Sarah Booth, PhD, Director and Senior Scientist, Jean Mayer Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging; Professor, Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy
  • Christina Economos, PhD, New Balance Chair in Childhood Nutrition; Professor, Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy; Co-Founder, Director and Vice-Chair, ChildObesity180; Associate Professor of Public Health and Family Medicine, Tufts University School of Medicine
  • Daniel Maxwell, PhD, Henry J. Leir Professor in Food Security, Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy; Research Director, Feinstein International Center 
  • Grace Phelan, N05, MS, RD, LDN, CNSC, Nutrition Support Coordinator, Tufts Medical Center; Clinical Instructor, Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy

The celebration continues in Behrakis at 3:00pm with the awarding of the Jean Mayer Prize for Excellence in Nutrition Science and Policy to four outstanding recipients who were chosen by a distinguished panel of industry leaders, Friedman School faculty, and leadership at Tufts University as part of our Public Impact Initiative activities.

The 2018 Jean Mayer Award Winners

Senator Tom Harkin

Former Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack

CSPI (Represented by Margo Wootan & Peter Lurie)

Mission Readiness (Represented by Rear Admiral James A. Barnett, Jr., U.S. Navy, Retired and Brigadier General Allyson R. Solomon, U.S. Air Force, Retired)

Each of the prize winners has fought for the creation of a healthier food environment for children across America and are outstanding examples of using trusted science to champion healthy food policies. One shining example is the bipartisan passage of the Healthy, Hunger Free Kids Act, which greatly improved school lunch and breakfast, as well as foods and snacks in early childcare and after school, for millions of American children. This award was made possible and supported by John Hancock.

Join us afterwards for a reception at 3:30pm in the Jaharis Café


Thursday, October 18, 2018 at 1:30 PM


Thursday, October 18, 2018 at 4:30 PM


Jaharis Family Center for Biomedical and Nutrition Sciences, 150 Harrison Avenue, Boston


Name: Nancy Mehegan
Phone: 617-636-2938


All Events Calendar